College Media Association (CMA), the nation’s largest organization dedicated to serving collegiate media advisers, is proud to announce the recipients of the 2019 Adviser Awards.

CMA annually recognizes the achievements of individuals through various award programs, including Honor Roll Adviser Awards for professionals who have advised for five or fewer years, Distinguished Adviser Awards for professionals who have advised for greater than five years, and a variety of special honors recognizing service and outstanding achievements.

The recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony on Friday, Nov. 1, at 6 p.m. at the Grand Hyatt in Washington D.C., during the 2019 Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association Fall National College Media Convention. The ceremony will be immediately followed by a reception for the recipients and guests.


Four-year Distinguished Adviser Awards

Distinguished 4-year Broadcast Adviser

Jasmine Crighton, Western Illinois University

Distinguished 4-year Business Adviser

Kelly Merges, UNC Charlotte

Distinguished 4-year Magazine Adviser

Laura Otto, Mount Mary University

Distinguished 4-year Multimedia Adviser

Jessica Clary, SCAD Atlanta

Distinguished 4-year Newspaper Adviser

Jody Biehl, SUNY Buffalo

Lola Burnham, Eastern Illinois University

Paul Glader, The King’s College

Distinguished 4-year Yearbook Adviser

James Carviou, Missouri Western State Univ.

Four-Year Honor Roll Adviser Awards

Honor Roll 4-year Magazine Adviser

Shelley Blundell, Youngstown State University

Honor Roll 4-year Newspaper Adviser

Sandra Combs, Arkansas State University

Amy DeVault, Wichita State University

Honor Roll 4-year Yearbook Adviser

Tommy Kopetskie, Elon University

Special Honors

Louis E. Inglehart First Amendment Award

Bob Bergland, Northwest Missouri State University 

Reid H. Montgomery Distinguished Service Award

Jackie White, Lewis University

Noel Ross Strader Award

Scott Morris, University of North Alabama