Two veteran advisers will receive CMA’s highest honor in October in Washington, D.C., at the National College Media Convention

Two longtime advisers—former CMA President David Swartzlander, a professor and adviser to three student media outlets at Doane University in Crete, Nebraska, and Ann Thorne, a former yearbook adviser and Professor Emerita at Missouri Western State University in St. Joseph, Missouri—will be inducted in October into College Media Association’s John A. Boyd Hall of Fame.

"This is truly an exclusive club, with fewer than 40 members being inducted in the past quarter-century," CMA President Chris Evans said. "These are advisers who have served our organization in countless ways. They are genuine leaders in the profession."

Their induction will take place at the College Media Association / Associated Collegiate Press National College Media Convention, Oct. 31 to Nov. 3 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Swartzlander has worked at Doane for 22 years and intends to retire this year. Known familiarly as “Swartz,” he serves as an associate professor of practice in journalism. In addition to teaching, he advises the Doane Owl newspaper, 1014 Magazine and Doaneline, a student-produced website.

From 2011 to 2013, Swartzlander served as CMA president. He also was elected as vice president and served from 2009 to 2011. In addition, Swartzlander was chairman of CMA’s Professional Development Committee and its Research Committee. He has presented numerous times at CMA conventions.

“Swartz was a forward-thinking leader who was willing to make the tough decisions in order to push the organization forward,” said Kelley Lash, a media adviser who served with Swartzlander on the CMA board of directors. “He managed to care about the big CMA picture, while also taking care of the individual members.

“His commitment to doing the right thing no matter what is what truly qualifies him for the Hall of Fame."

Swartzlander has also served as president and executive director of Nebraska’s Collegiate Media Association. He won the Leadership Nebraska Award bestowed by the Nebraska Press Association for taking his students to Washington, D.C to cover five presidential inaugurations. 

He is a graduate of the First Amendment Institute, a former fellow with the Institute for Journalism Excellence and a graduate of the Newsplex Summer Seminar at the University of South Carolina.

Swartzlander wrote the instructor’s manual to Tim Harrower’s “Inside Reporting” textbook and edited the book, “Unforgettable: The Photos of Our Lives” for the Lincoln Journal Star.

Before Doane, Swartzlander reported for daily newspapers in Ohio, Florida, New York and Nebraska, winning several newswriting awards.

Thorne—born in Columbia, Missouri—worked for many years as a professional journalist in Chicago, Kansas City, and St. Joseph, Missouri.

In 1987 she joined the faculty at Missouri Western State University, eventually becoming professor of English and journalism.

During her 25 years at Missouri Western, she advised the University’s yearbook, The Griffon, which received many awards, including Pacemakers, Best of Show, Gold Crowns and Silver Crowns.

Ken Rosenauer, a former CMA president who has been with the organization for more than 30 years, said Thorne gave professional, top-notch, and timely training to hundreds of journalism students on her yearbook staff and in her classes.

She offered the same superior quality teaching and training to media advisers and media students in CMA programs, workshops and committees over the decades she was an active member, he said.

“I have been honored to work with hundreds of media advisers across the board in accomplishing the important work of CMA," Rosenauer said. "None gave more or better than Ann Thorne.

“Few members of the Hall of Fame have given more and better quality contributions to their students and to CMA than Ann Thorne. And I certainly include myself in that measure. I remain humbled by her record of contributions and successes."

At Missouri Western, Thorne received the Jesse Lee Myers Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2005 and was named Regents Distinguished Professor with Distinction in Teaching.

She also received the Missouri Governor’s Award for Teaching Excellence, one of the highest honors at Missouri Western and across the state, in 2007.

Thorne retired in 2014, becoming professor emerita.

The John A. Boyd Hall of Fame Award is the most prestigious honor given by CMA, recognizing longtime members whose dedication, commitment and sacrifice have contributed to the betterment and value of student media programs of both their campus and the nation.

The award also recognizes the contributions of members who have devoted extensive and varied service to CMA on committees, the board of directors and other leadership roles and who have presented insightful, relevant and well-prepared programs and sessions.

Those considered for this award must have contributed to college journalism education for 20 years or more while being an active member of CMA.