Tammy Merrett
CMA Adviser Awards Chairperson
Program Director, Student Publications
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
CMA announces 2021 Adviser Award recipients
College Media Association (CMA), the nation’s largest organization dedicated to serving collegiate media advisers, is proud to announce the recipients of the 2021 Adviser Awards.
CMA annually recognizes the achievements of individuals through various award programs, including Honor Roll Adviser Awards for professionals who have advised for five or fewer years, Distinguished Adviser Awards for professionals who have advised for greater than five years, and a variety of special honors recognizing service and outstanding achievements.
The recipients will be honored during an awards ceremony during the 2021 ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention held Oct. 14-17, 2021.
Distinguished Adviser Awards
Four-year Newspaper Adviser
• Elizabeth Smith, Pepperdine University, Seaver College
• Dr. James Carviou, Missouri Western State University
Four-year Magazine Adviser
• Linda Barrington, Mount Mary University
Two-year Magazine Adviser
• Geoff Carr, North Idaho College
Four-year Broadcast Adviser
• Jamie Lynn Gilbert, North Carolina State University
Four-year Multimedia Adviser
• Steven Sandberg, Oregon State University
Honor Roll Adviser Awards
Four-year Newspaper Adviser
• Peg Achterman, Seattle Pacific University
• Emily Burch Harris, North Carolina A&T State University
• Julie Lewis, University of Central Missouri
Two-year Newspaper Adviser
• Marcie Young Cancio, Salt Lake Community College
Four-year Magazine Adviser 
• Sam Oldenburg, Western Kentucky University
Special Honors for Service and Outstanding Achievements
Noel Ross Strader Memorial Award
• Dr. Jill Morris, Frostburg State University
Louis E. Ingelhart First Amendment Award 
• Steven Listopad, Henderson State University
Ron Spielberger Service to CMA Award
• Kelley Lash, Rice University
Reid H. Montgomery Distinguished Service Award
• Dr. Max Branscomb, Southwestern College